Wednesday, October 12, 2011
Did He Touch Her?
In his latest blog entry, John Geddert pointed out that his athlete's biggest rival was inadvertently touched by her coach while he was spotting her layout Jaegar. I watched the meet and didn't notice until it was pointed out. It is difficult to determine because Komova didn't lose her momentum. If the coach did touch her, a deduction should've been taken. The rule exists so coaches aren't pushing their athletes through skills they can't master. Komova has done the move countless times and it appears to be a true accident.
Was Komova touched?
Should the score be changed?
Is the rule rather pointless as it isn't even her fault?
The outcome of the meet ultimately wouldn't change...but it is certainly food for thought.